//
you're reading...
CrossFit, Olympic Weightlifting

She’s Gone Country… Look at them Boots

For a whole month I’ve been back in USA, back in Tucson, back at my childhood home, back in cowboy boots. I took lots of pictures of some highlights and this beautiful city (you should all come visit). I don’t know what it is about the Southwest that always keeps me wanting to return, and keeps me happy when I’m here, and makes me feel… right… in those boots (but still no hat). The sun is bright, the tank tops and shorts are out, the wildlife abounds, and the water is consumed by the gallon. I’d love to go horseback-riding again, too. It’s been ages, and that’s just a darn shame.

So, as for my intermittent life back in Grand Canyon state…

I’m lifting at a new gym, Crossfit Works; it’s a CrossFit gym, but it has this special club that adheres well to my new focus: Olympic weightlifting. 4 days a week I get to spend 2 hours of my day trying to max out my snatch (currentl 130# and lots of failed 135# attempts) and clean and jerk (currently 165#… would love to try 170# soon — once I remember how to jerk properly ). In case you didn’t know… squatting heavy weights is good for you.

I have a new laptop, and I show it off at new coffee shops while I work on my dissertation. Epic Cafe is my go-to fave, but I’m still open to checking out newer establishments in town. Finding my new writing environment, one coffee cup at a time.

And now that I’m quite settled here back in Tucson, I’ve just packed up a bag for yet another trip (complete with cowboy boots). Tomorrow I head to Philadelphia for the annual AIA conference, where I’ll sit in on a host of great talks and see a plethora of familiar archaeological faces. It’s like one huge party! And in a great city, nonetheless. Added perk: my uncle lives there! Then it’s back to Charlottesville for a week! I get to see friends, lift at my old box, dance at Sunday Salsa, and get all my things, and my car (my Honda Fit, Paolo!), and pack up that car with all those things before driving West!!! Roadtrip!!!

Charlottesville –> Atlanta –> Baton Rouge –> Austin –> El Paso –> the sunny Old Pueblo. I have maps, I have more maps, I hope to have good books on tape, I have friends’ places where I can crash, and I have the wide open road to explore!

All while wearing my cowboy boots and, yes, listening to country music.

Springtime plan: keep PRing every month and keep writing every day. Full draft of dissertation done by June? 150# snatch? 190# clean and jerk? All totally within my reach.  …and still wearing those boots.

Let’s do this.

About Elizabeth

PhD student in Classical Art & Archaeology at UVA with a focus on Greek heroes and iconography (yet forever awed by Roman 2nd and 4th style painting). Salsa and Argentine tango dancer extraordinaire. Weightlifter and Crossfitter the world over.

Discussion

One thought on “She’s Gone Country… Look at them Boots

  1. Yee-haw! Have a great drive, lady!

    Posted by Kelly Jones | January 5, 2012, 10:38 PM

Leave a Reply

