//
you're reading...
Italy

Home Again in Italy

It’s amazing how visiting old haunts can be incredibly calming yet invigorating and all at the same time eye opening. Since I have been to Italy more times than I can count with one hand (for academic trips, archaeological excavations, and travel with the family), I am taking it easy with my camera and instead just enjoying the moments spent back in Florence, Umbria, and Rome with my lovely parents. But that doesn’t mean I’m just sitting around all day doing nothing! My feet have tread upon familiar streets and even dared to travel down unfamiliar alleys. My tongue has tasted familiar flavors (bistecca alla Fiorentina, insalata caprese, gelato gelato gelato gelato, prosecco) and daring flavors (vitello tonnato — interestingly delicious). Though in other countries I was amused by British lingo, faked my French, and stumbled my way through attempts to comprehend German, my knowledge of Italian has flowed back into my brain and onto my tongue like the embrace of an old friend.

It turns out that one of my favorite foodie blogs recently posted an “Ode to Italy” which nicely sums up my feelings exactly along with gorgeous photos. And just because I see no reason not to add to my already giant collection of Italian photos, I’ve added a slideshow of my own. Enjoy, my lovelies.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And yes, I even managed to get dissertation work accomplished, thanks to the National Archaeological Museum in Florence, the Villa Giulia in Rome and the Museo Vaticano. And my old but still functioning laptop. And for some reason neither Florence nor Rome has a CrossFit gym, but I make do with what I have, so between the push-ups, handstands, sit-ups, walking lunges, and laps swum, I also back-squatted my mother.

 

About Elizabeth

PhD student in Classical Art & Archaeology at UVA with a focus on Greek heroes and iconography (yet forever awed by Roman 2nd and 4th style painting). Salsa and Argentine tango dancer extraordinaire. Weightlifter and Crossfitter the world over.

Discussion

One thought on “Home Again in Italy

  1. Nice squats with auntie Jan! Very impressive. I’m going to the National Archeology Museum tomorrow in Athens. I will think of you and am very much looking forward to spending some time with you here in Greece 🙂

    Posted by blueeyedbrie | September 6, 2011, 6:31 PM

Leave a Reply

