//
you're reading...
Germany

Gesundheit!

“Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry and narrow-mindedness.” –Mark Twain

It’s no secret I love to travel. Often I find myself returning to familiar places (Italy…) or in a familiar city but finally really discovering all that it has to offer (such as my last 2 week in Paris). I even find new things to do each time I’m in Rome, no matter that I’ve visited that city for more weeks than I care to count (and will add another week to that long list in September).

But what is truly a great experience is to find yourself in a whole new city — nay, a whole new COUNTRY. Well. Here I am in Berlin. I’ve never stepped foot in Germany before today and now I’ve went and gone on a 3.5 hour guided walking tour of the city seeing all the major sites and (re-)learning the city’s history (started at Brandenburg Gate and ended in the middle of Museum Island). It is really an amazing experience. I can’t say I speak the language well, and I didn’t have a map until my hotel receptionist handed one to me, and I don’t eat pork though many of the meats sold by street vendors and in restaurants most likely include pork (can you say “currywurst”?). But I’m loving it. I love the experience, if anything. Does Berlin make on to the list as one of my favorite cities? Well… we’ll see, won’t we.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Elizabeth

PhD student in Classical Art & Archaeology at UVA with a focus on Greek heroes and iconography (yet forever awed by Roman 2nd and 4th style painting). Salsa and Argentine tango dancer extraordinaire. Weightlifter and Crossfitter the world over.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

