//
you're reading...
France

Bangarang Bullies

Needless to say, this is not a post about my travels (per se) or my work or my Crossfit. Nooo this is a post about bulldogs. JUST in case you were unaware, I absolutely LOVE English bulldogs and plan to have one in the future. She will be mostly white and I will name her Boudicca.

Bulldogs rule and just make you smile. Evidence:

Sadly, I did not see a SINGLE English bulldog during my time in Oxford (or even London)!!! A few pugs, but they do not count.

 So now I’m almost done with 2 lovely weeks in Paris, and I’m wandering around the 5th Arrondisement and come across THIS lovely little spectacle in a shop window!!! Instant smile on my face.

 

HOWEVER…

French bulldogs

…  There are some things in life that make me put on an ‘ew’ face, and French bulldogs are one of them (so are most fast-food joints, “Hawaiian” pizza, buttered popcorn flavored jelly beans, and the stink of sewers*.) They are NOT to be confused with the adorable smooshy-faced wonderful greatness of English bullies. These are yucky icky French bulldogs with their pointed ears and smug faces. And they are NOT cute (even as puppies). And I saw them in France but did not see English bulldogs in England and somewhere some god is playing a cruel joke on me.

 

 

 

*not a comprehensive list of all things that entice my ‘ew’ face.

About Elizabeth

PhD student in Classical Art & Archaeology at UVA with a focus on Greek heroes and iconography (yet forever awed by Roman 2nd and 4th style painting). Salsa and Argentine tango dancer extraordinaire. Weightlifter and Crossfitter the world over.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

