//
you're reading...
CrossFit, England, France, Greece, Heroes, Italy

Hola mis amigos

Well here I am. Just another wordpress blog, right? WRONG. This blog is … well it’s me. Hineni.

Why start a blog again after the dismal failure and neglect of my college livejournal? Simple: I am about to embark on a 5-month adventure of a lifetime and what better way to share, document, and remember than the powerful medium of the internet?

Bit about me. I am currently a Ph.D. student (ABD actually) at UVA in Classical Archaeology with a focus on Archaic Greek hero cult iconography (specifically Athenian vase-painting).  As of July, I will be a wandering academic soul exploring the hallways and basements of museums and libraries across Europe. Every now and then I may even get to act like a real tourist and enjoy the cities I visit.

Itinerary:

July 11-31: Oxford                                                                                                                   August 1-14: Paris                                                                                                                     August 15-22: Berlin                                                                                                               August 23-26: Vienna                                                                                                            August 27-September 11: Italy (Florence, a weekend at the Villa di Monte           Solare, then another week in Rome)                                                                                September 11-December 7: Athens/Attica

I intend to update this blog at least once a week, hopefully with pictures to feed the aesthetic.  It won’t be all business. I’ll post thoughts, anecdotes (hopefully amusing ones), experiences, food reviews, and general things (including reviews of Crossfit boxes I visit). If I see any bulldogs I will be sure to post in bold and all caps. If I see Sean Connery then I may just have to convince him I’m his one and only and IT WILL WORK.

Until my next post… boom shaka laka

About Elizabeth

PhD student in Classical Art & Archaeology at UVA with a focus on Greek heroes and iconography (yet forever awed by Roman 2nd and 4th style painting). Salsa and Argentine tango dancer extraordinaire. Weightlifter and Crossfitter the world over.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

