//
you're reading...
Italy, Uncategorized

Random Ramblings (and a poem)

Global Warming is in the house, baby! It’s sunny and 65 degrees on the East Coast and there’s snow falling through the oculus of the Pantheon in Rome. Here in Tucson, all is as it should be, but I’m surreptitiously enjoying it through a window of a coffee shop (aka my office). Dissertation: I will write you.

Susan B. Komen for the Cure Foundation caused quite the hubbub the past couple days when they decided to retract their funding to Planned Parenthood. The outcome? Peer pressure got them to reverse their decision and also caused over $700,000 in donations to Planned Parenthood, with many thanks to Mayor Bloomberg and LIVESTRONG. Righteous, right! RIGHT. I don’t care about your political beliefs, but if you don’t support healthcare for all, then please reconsider your disposition. If you can provide a solid argument as to why people should not have access to cancer screenings and support, then I’ll listen.

…. 

That’s what I thought.

And as for Komen? Well, this looks interesting. 

In totally unrelated news, I’ve decided I’m not hipster enough to be such a regular coffee-shop patron. Oh well. At least I found a place with amazing iced coffee and large tables at which I can spread out all my stuff while I work.

……………………

WRITING REPOSE (by me)
Rationing my logic
to organize my day.
Smiling with emotion
I know no other way.
–I want to try you on,
–I won’t say no,
–But life’s schedule
–says I’m too damn practical.
I can’t commit
I always quit
Gonna change my ways
I’ll start today
–Adding more numbers
–to my stack of plates
–Diving under the bar
–I fear all that weight.
I want a change
I yearn for success —
yet mental obstacles
I do not address.
–I can’t commit,
–I always quit,
–Gonna change my ways,
–won’t hold myself at bay.

About Elizabeth

PhD student in Classical Art & Archaeology at UVA with a focus on Greek heroes and iconography (yet forever awed by Roman 2nd and 4th style painting). Salsa and Argentine tango dancer extraordinaire. Weightlifter and Crossfitter the world over.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,025 other followers

